Is Horseback Riding In Bryce Canyon Worth It?

A straight comparison of the in-park concessioner horse rides and the Red Canyon roster ride from Bryce Canyon City, with prices, seasons and what each actually includes.

Red rock canyon walls and pine forest along a horse trail near Bryce Canyon

For most visitors, yes, if you match the ride to what you actually want. Riding into the Bryce Amphitheater with the park concessioner puts you on trails below the rim that hikers share. The three-hour Red Canyon ride from Bryce Canyon City, from $130 per person, carries a 4.7 rating across 252 reviews and suits riders who want longer saddle time among red rock without the park fee question.

The honest answer depends on a distinction many first-time visitors miss: there are two separate horseback products in the Bryce Canyon area, run by different operators, on different land, at different prices. The in-park option is Canyon Trail Rides, the park's licensed concessioner, whose guided horse and mule rides descend into the Bryce Amphitheater along a dedicated horse trail and the Peekaboo Loop. The other is operated by Rubys Inn Adventures out of Bryce Canyon City, and its three-hour ride never enters the national park at all: it runs through Red Canyon and Losee Canyon in Dixie National Forest, the salmon-pink rock country just a few miles up the road.

Horses standing single file on a red dirt trail between eroded rock cliffs

We compared both listings, the National Park Service's horse riding page, and the current season details, because the worth-it question is really three questions: what does each ride cost, where does each ride go, and which one fits your dates. The rides also compete for your time against everything else on the area's activity menu, from the guided ATV and RZR ride on forest land to the stargazing sessions at a private dark-sky site outside town. If your day at Bryce is short, a horse may or may not be the best use of three hours.

There is also a timing dimension that rarely makes it into review roundups. The concessioner's season ends with October, the park's shuttle stops running in mid-October, and the first snowstorms of the season can arrive in the same month, so an autumn visit compresses several deadlines into a single fortnight. A rider arriving in late October may find the in-park product finished for the year while outside-the-park options continue, weather permitting. Spring riders face the mirror problem: heavy snow in March and April is a documented pattern here, and a trail that was dry last week can be muddy or closed this week.

What The In-Park Concessioner Rides Include

Canyon Trail Rides, the park concessioner, runs two-hour and three-hour guided horse and mule rides into the Bryce Amphitheater, typically April through October 31, weather permitting. Rides follow a dedicated horse trail and the Peekaboo Loop. Booking is through the concessioner's own site, or by phone within seven days of your date. The NPS lists 435-834-5500 for near-term bookings.

This is the ride people picture when they imagine horseback riding at Bryce Canyon. The route drops below the rim into the Amphitheater, the densest concentration of hoodoos in the park, and joins the Peekaboo Loop, so riders see the formations from below rather than from the overlooks above. The park service describes it plainly on its horse and mule riding page: guided rides, a dedicated horse trail, a seasonal window that ends with October. Prices for the concessioner rides are set on the Canyon Trail Rides booking site and are not published on the NPS page, so check the operator's live listing for the current figure rather than relying on secondhand numbers.

Two practical notes shape the experience. First, the season is real: the rides typically run April through October 31 and are weather dependent, so a late-October storm can end things early. Second, the concessioner rides start inside the park, which means the park entrance fee applies before you ever reach the saddle, and for non-US residents aged 16 and over an additional $100 per person nonresident fee applies unless an Annual or America the Beautiful pass covers it. That fee structure matters more for international visitors than the ticket price itself, and it is one reason some riders choose an outside-the-park ride instead.

The math is worth spelling out. A family of four non-US residents riding inside the park could face four entrance fees plus four nonresident fees before any horse is saddled, unless a pass covers them; the $250 nonresident annual pass covers the holder plus up to three nonresident adults traveling in a commercial tour group, which can flip the calculation for a group of exactly that size. The concessioner arrangement is also why the in-park product cannot be booked through this site's tour partners. The National Park Service grants a single concessioner the in-park riding rights, and private stock riders need a reservation through Recreation.gov, a system in place since April 2024. Overnight pack trips are not offered.

The Red Canyon Ride From Bryce Canyon City

The roster's featured horseback product is a three-hour guided ride from Bryce Canyon City through Red Canyon and Losee Canyon in Dixie National Forest, from $130 per person, rated 4.7 across 252 reviews. It includes a trail horse with saddle, saddlebags, a knowledgeable guide, basic riding instruction and a water bottle. Gratuities are extra.

Rubys Inn Adventures runs this ride out of Bryce Canyon City, and its route is a genuine selling point rather than a consolation prize. Red Canyon, the section of Dixie National Forest between Bryce and the junction with Highway 89, carries some of the same orange and red hoodoo country the park is famous for, plus Losee Canyon's narrower, quieter corridor. Riders get three hours in the saddle, which is longer than the concessioner's two-hour option, and because the ride never crosses the national park boundary, the park entrance fee and the $100 nonresident surcharge are simply not part of the bill.

A guided line of horses crossing a pine shaded trail beneath tall red rock walls

The listing states the inclusions directly: trail horse with saddle, saddlebags for small personal items, a knowledgeable guide, basic horse maneuvering instruction and a water bottle. Gratuities are excluded. Free cancellation is listed, which matters for a weather-dependent outdoor activity in a region where October snowstorms are, in the park service's own words, not unusual. Check the listing's cancellation terms before you rely on them, but the free-cancellation flag is there.

For a fuller look at the riding options around the park, including how the forest rides fit alongside the concessioner product, see the companion guide to Bryce Canyon horseback rides. And if your group splits between riders and non-riders, the same operator base in Bryce Canyon City runs the guided ATV and RZR ride covered in the Bryce Canyon ATV tours guide, which makes a workable split morning.

How The Two Rides Compare On Price And Route

Neither option is clearly cheaper on paper because the concessioner does not publish its price on the NPS page. The Red Canyon ride is from $130 per person for three hours, no park fee required. The in-park rides require park entry, $35 per private vehicle or $20 per person on foot, plus the $100 nonresident fee for non-US residents 16 and over, before the ride ticket itself.

The comparison table below lays out what we could verify from the operator listings and the National Park Service pages, side by side.

Canyon Trail Rides (in-park) Red Canyon ride (Bryce Canyon City)
Land Bryce Canyon National Park, Bryce Amphitheater Dixie National Forest: Red Canyon and Losee Canyon
Route Dedicated horse trail and Peekaboo Loop below the rim Forest and canyon trails outside the park boundary
Duration 2-hour and 3-hour guided rides 3 hours
Price On the concessioner's booking site, not on the NPS page From $130 per person
Rating and reviews Not among the bookable tours listed here 4.7 across 252 reviews
Season Typically April through October 31, weather permitting Check the live listing for seasonal dates
Park fee Entrance fee applies, plus $100 nonresident fee for non-US residents 16+ unless a pass covers it Not required, ride is outside the park
Included Guided horse or mule ride Trail horse with saddle, saddlebags, guide, basic instruction, water bottle
Booking Concessioner's own site, or phone within 7 days The operator's live listing, free cancellation listed

The route difference is the heart of it. The concessioner ride goes below the rim of the Bryce Amphitheater, among the hoodoos themselves, on a horse trail the park service maintains for that purpose. The Red Canyon ride stays above and between canyon walls in the national forest, trading the park's signature amphitheater for longer ride time, a bigger landscape and no entry-fee friction. Reviewers on the Red Canyon listing consistently rate it well; 4.7 across 252 reviews is a substantial pool for a rural outfit. More of these guides are collected on Bryce Canyon National Park Tours.

There is a third framing worth naming: if the goal is simply to see Bryce Canyon well rather than to ride, a horse is one option among several. The three-hour small group sightseeing tour of the park, from $84.81 per person, covers the key viewpoints in comfort, and the question of which format suits you is covered in how to choose a Bryce Canyon tour. Riders should also weigh the simple physical arithmetic: a three-hour ride means roughly three hours of sitting, posting and gripping, and first-timers routinely discover muscles they did not know they had by the second hour. If anyone in your party is ambivalent about horses, the ambivalence usually resolves itself one way or the other around hour two.

Cost, Age And Weight Questions You Should Ask First

The Red Canyon listing does not state a weight limit, an age minimum or a rider experience requirement, so ask the operator directly before booking rather than assuming. The park service page for the concessioner similarly publishes no weight or age figures. Roster policy on this site: weight or age limits not stated by a listing are never guessed at. Treat both as check-before-you-book items.

This is where honest planning beats optimistic booking. Rural riding operations commonly have rider weight limits and age floors, but neither the featured Red Canyon listing nor the National Park Service's horse page states one, and inventing a number here would be exactly the kind of plausible-sounding gap-fill this site refuses to do. The practical move is a quick message through the operator's listing or a phone call before you commit, especially for riders near the upper end of typical saddle limits or for families with young children.

A saddled horse tied at a wooden rail near a forest trailhead

Budget-wise, here is what the money looks like across the horse and its closest alternatives in Bryce Canyon City, using only the roster's firm figures.

Activity Duration Price Rating
Red Canyon horseback ride 3 hours From $130 per person 4.7 across 252 reviews
Guided ATV/RZR ride 1 hour From $145 per group up to 2 4.7 across 412 reviews
Stargazing adventure 1 hour 30 minutes From $59.04 per person 4.5 across 69 reviews
Scenic Tour of Bryce Canyon (small group van) 3 hours From $84.81 per person 4.9 across 1,215 reviews

Notice that the ATV ride is priced per group of up to two, not per person, which changes the math for couples. The one-hour guided ATV and RZR ride from the same adventure base covers Dixie National Forest and private land with views toward the Bryce Canyon rim; off-highway vehicles are prohibited inside the park under the park's compendium of regulations, so any motorized ride you see sold here is honestly an outside-the-park product, as our coverage describes it.

For groups whose real interest is the evening, the stargazing session at a private dark-sky site near Bryce Canyon City runs an hour and a half from $59.04 per person with hotel pickup listed, and Bryce Canyon's Gold Tier International Dark Sky Park status makes the area's night sky a genuine draw. The park itself hosts roughly 100 astronomy programs a year, but the booked session puts a telescope, a guide and hot beverages in one package.

Best Season And Weather Timing For A Ride

The in-park concessioner rides typically run April through October 31, weather permitting. October snowstorms are not unusual at Bryce, and below-freezing nights are near-constant from October through May, so spring and early fall rides carry real cancellation risk. Summer rides face the July and August afternoon thunderstorm pattern instead, with lightning a program-canceling hazard.

The park's own weather page frames the stakes better than any review can: average monthly highs run from 37F in January to 80F in July, average lows sit below freezing from November through March, and the summer rainy season brings frequent afternoon thunderstorms. For a three-hour ride, that points to morning departures in July and August, and to booking with the cancellation terms in mind in the shoulder months. The Red Canyon listing carries free cancellation, which is worth having when a spring storm can drop heavy snow in March or April.

Elevation is the quiet factor. The area sits around 8,000 feet, where the park service notes effective oxygen is about 75 percent of sea level, and trails that start with a descent always end with a climb back out. Three hours in a saddle at altitude is more tiring than the same ride at sea level, a point worth weighing honestly if anyone in your party is unconditioned, arriving from low elevation, or riding for the first time. The park service's day hiking guidance suggests drinking about a quart of water every one to two hours of exertion, a sensible benchmark for a long ride too, and the Red Canyon listing includes one water bottle, which is a start rather than a full ration for a summer afternoon.

Winter riders should adjust expectations entirely. Guided rides in the Amphitheater pause for the season, the Wall Street section of the Navajo Loop is closed until further notice per a late September park alert, and the main scenic road can close temporarily at mile marker 3 after storms until plows clear it. The winter park rewards skis, snowshoes and the occasional full moon hike over horses, a trade-off covered in our Bryce Canyon winter tours guide.

If You Would Rather Ride In The Evening

Riders fixated on scenery over saddle time sometimes do better flipping the day: a morning van tour of the park's viewpoints, then an evening activity. The UTV sunset and stars tour, 2 hours 30 minutes from $149 per person with a 4.9 rating across 36 reviews, bundles a sunset ride with smores, and the listing names Bryce Canyon National Park as an itinerary stop.

That last clause needs honest framing. Off-highway vehicles are prohibited on park roads, so the listing's park stop should be read as an itinerary waypoint, not a promise of driving inside the boundary. What the product actually sells is a sunset drive through the area's backcountry, dark-sky timing and a fire with smores, which pairs naturally with the region's night-sky reputation.

The broader point for the worth-it verdict: horseback riding competes for the same three hours as a van tour, an ATV loop, a telescope session or a helicopter flight over the amphitheater. Riders who love horses should ride. Visitors who mostly want to see Bryce Canyon efficiently may get more from the small group scenic tours, a comparison worked through in what to expect on a Bryce Canyon tour.

Common Questions About Bryce Canyon Horseback Riding

Is Horseback Riding In Bryce Canyon Worth It?

Yes for most riders who match the product to their goal. The in-park concessioner ride puts you below the rim of the Bryce Amphitheater on the Peekaboo Loop; the three-hour Red Canyon ride from Bryce Canyon City, from $130 per person, rated 4.7 across 252 reviews, gives longer saddle time in Dixie National Forest with no park entry fee.

Can You Ride Horses Inside Bryce Canyon National Park?

Yes. Canyon Trail Rides, the park concessioner, runs two-hour and three-hour guided horse and mule rides into the Bryce Amphitheater along a dedicated horse trail and the Peekaboo Loop, typically April through October 31, weather permitting. Private stock riders need a reservation through Recreation.gov.

How Much Does Horseback Riding Near Bryce Canyon Cost?

The Red Canyon ride from Bryce Canyon City is from $130 per person for three hours. The concessioner's in-park prices are published on its own booking site rather than the National Park Service page, so check there. Remember park entry costs extra for the in-park ride: $35 per vehicle or $20 per person, plus a $100 nonresident fee for non-US visitors 16 and over unless a pass covers it.

What Is The Difference Between The Park Ride And The Red Canyon Ride?

Route and fees. The concessioner ride descends into the Bryce Amphitheater inside the national park. The Red Canyon ride stays in Dixie National Forest, through Red Canyon and Losee Canyon outside the park boundary, lasts three hours, and requires no park entrance fee or nonresident surcharge.

When Does Horseback Riding Season End At Bryce Canyon?

The in-park concessioner rides typically run April through October 31, weather permitting. October snowstorms are not unusual at the park's elevation, so late-season bookings carry cancellation risk; the Red Canyon listing offers free cancellation, and its seasonal dates are shown on the operator's live listing.

Do I Need Experience To Ride Horses At Bryce Canyon?

The Red Canyon listing includes basic horse maneuvering instruction and a knowledgeable guide, and the concessioner rides are guided, which suits first-time riders. Neither listing states a weight limit or age minimum, so confirm rider requirements with the operator directly before booking.

← All posts